top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria De Jesus Berry

I'm a Self Shooter- My Shots from Over the Years

I have been self shooting for over a decade. I've certainly noticed that a lot more people are self shooting now. From models, bloggers, vloggers, actors and influencers... creating your own content puts the power in YOUR hands. Remote triggers are the best way to self shoot and they are actually quite cheap. I always find mine on Amazon, my go to online shopping store. I like remote triggers that fit in the palm of my hand, something my hand can essentially cover up while I am photographing myself. I've created so many wonderful shots on different cameras and thought to share some of my favorite captures. <3 Each photo will have a lil info on it's background story. <3 ENJOY <3



I was working a full time job at JCPenney in Houston, Tx when I shot this photograph. I purchased the Black and White dress from the Junior's Dept and the fashion jewelry from the department I worked in, Women's Accessories. <3 I paired it with a lace bow on my hair. <3



This was a test I wanted to shoot to see how my new lingerie looked on me. <3 LOL :P It was sitting in my drawer way too long and needed to be worn. It was a cute lil set from Fredrick's of Hollywood that I found on clearance when it was still located at Memorial City Mall in Houston, Tx. <3



Masked is what I like to call this one. I love using accessories, costume pieces, props, etc to add an extra element in the photograph. They add depth, texture and interest. <3 Masks aren't just for Halloween. :P




I shot these next two shots with a Vampy Vibe in mind. I used the exact same lace as my first shot for the first Dark Beauty look. <3 I blushed my cheeks for a doll-like feel and added a dark lip and gloss to finish the look. <3 For the second Dark Beauty look, I wore a black turban, a seed bead statement necklace and I changed my lip color to a peachy hue.




This is my "LOVE" piece. I shot it after a photo shoot and kept my hair curly from the shoot styling. <3 I am wearing a vintage style, long sleeve blouse thrifted from Value Village. I paired my funky, colorful top with a faux black leather legging from JCPenney. The digital painting is my work as well. <3




I shot this look while in San Antonio, Texas. I thrifted most of this look from Value

I bought the dress and red fringe shawl from Village. The dress, carousel jacket and

Value Village. I layered it with my own jewelry, some of the vintage necklaces are all from

all from JCPenney. The pillows in the background Value Village. I'm sure you know by now

are all from Target. The background is a patterned that Value Village is my FAVORITE thrift

scarf from JCPenney as well. shop!!! <3




I used a ring light for this shot in a dark room. My entire outfit is from JCPenney including the pink digital watch. The pillows around me are from Target and the blue printed bedding is also from JCPenney. I love the hazy look that the right light gave for this shot. <3




My mother gifted me the beautiful jewelry I modeled in this shot. <3 I used a sequin pink backdrop that I purchased from Amazon. Amazon really does have it all!!!



This hot pink top was the perfect choice for this vibrant headshot. I used to fan to blow my hair, hence also making my eyes a lil squinty... lol. :P I tweaked the colors a bit to have a lil fun and this was the result. <3



I handmade this crown with dollar store flowers, small charms from Michael's and some hot glue! <3 I am wearing a red velvet robe which cannot be fully seen except for it's puffy shoulders which I ADORE!!! <3




Shadows, shadows and more shadows.... that was the idea behind this photograph. I used a vintage blouse from Value Village for my outfit. My hair is in a large hive. <3 Helmet Heads, Rock Onnnnn!!!! LOL!! :P




Once again, my entire outfit is from JCPenney. I am wearing a simple black thong with a lace top. <3 I had just finished getting my hair dyed at the salon and wanted to capture the red, vibrant new shade that I was sporting! :P <3 :P I was OBSESSED with red hair for a few years. <3



Well, I went though a phase where I wanted to learn how to play a guitar. This was a horrible choice for me to begin on but it made a fab prop for my photo. I wore a boho style dress from JCPenney as well as earrings from there as well. I finished my outfit with a faux flower in an orange hue. <3


Are you a self shooter? How long have you been self shooting? I'd love to see your shots as well!!! <3 To self shoot a lil easier than using camera timers, invest in the following items below. They have a lot of cheap options on Amazon for those with tighter budgets. <3


ITEMS TO INVEST IN FOR SELF SHOOTING

  • Tripod: A good, sturdy one is best. You don't want your camera to fall over and break.

  • Remote Trigger: Smaller remotes are better for concealing in your hand while self shooting.

  • Backdrops: There are a vast array of photo backdrops on Amazon and online. From solid colors, different fabrics, sequin backdrops, your options are extensive. Just decide what kind of tone/feel you want in your photo to make it easier to select backdrops. Also, reviews are really important to read as you purchase your self shooting essentials.

  • Lighting: They often come in sets... from soft box sets in different sizes and shapes to ring lights which are PERFECT for beauty work. Perhaps some color lights? <3

  • Photo Editing Software: Tweak your images, use overlays, filters and gradients, add text, sharpen your images, add a copyright... photo editing software is imperative for making your photographs look professional and polished.

  • Cloud Backup and/or a hard drive backup: You DO NOT want to lose all of your files!!! Make sure you do this. <3 You will never regret it. <3


Until next time,

Keep Creating

Stay Safe

Stay Blessed

((( <3 <3 <3 )))

XOXO

6 views0 comments

Kommentarer


bottom of page